Did I Earn My Promotions?

In observing how some people react to the promotion of others, it got me thinking about mine. Technically speaking I have been promoted 3 times in my career (10 years); and frankly, I think I failed to earn the last one. Allow me to explain.

I perceive promotions as a continuum going from individual contribution to strategic thinking and team leading. In other words, as I get promoted the expectations go from producing a lot to management and development of staff.

Let’s explore my opening statement.

Promotions 1 and 2 relate to the individual achieving independence in production and core knowledge of the business; and in some cases, becoming a subject matter expert in your area.

For a period of 6 years I was exposed to complex actuarial concepts, saw the end of community rating Medicare plans, and entered the era of risk base pricing.

I progressed from assisting in the pricing of Medicare plans to being responsible for 2 regions encompassing 5+ states generating 1.2 Billion in revenue and serving over 120,000 lives. I went from following orders to actively suggesting ideas for new processes, tools, methodologies, and assumptions. I was also responsible for communicating results to regional leaders and addressing any audit questions. I was somewhat of an expert.

By now some would think I was ready to take the next step and start leading others. But was I?

Promotion #3 is hard to swallow. At the moment, I thought I deserved it because of the long hours, high levels of production, and all the hard work on getting the job done. The truth was that I had no management skills, emotional intelligence, or strategic thinking. I was just getting more stressed and working more hours to do everything myself.

I didn’t learn or start working on any of these leadership skills until 1 year into the new role. This means that it took me 365 days to realize I was no longer an individual contributor. An additional year would pass by before I could truly say I had a notion of management, leadership, strategic thinking, and staff development.

So the question, did I earn my promotions? Not at the time I was promoted.

The key takeaway is that I recognized a gap between reality and mindset and worked hard at bridging it.

In the end, what matters to me is that I decided to meet the demands of the new role instead of resting on my laurels. In the long run, people follow people, not titles.

Español

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

