Learn It From Rocky–Believe is King

We have thought about our battles versus the others (Rocky vs. The “Board”), our circumstances (Rocky Jr. vs. Life), and now we get to think about our demons.

Nobody is Laughing

As Rocky’s last fight moves along, his son says to him “Hey, stay on him! Everybody thought this was a joke, including me! Now, nobody is laughing! Stay on him!”

What the audience notices is that Rocky is also struggling with his “beast”. He has been second guessing himself all his life, and in this last fight, his fighting with himself. The crowd, the opponent, and his son are just after thoughts. This is about Rocky and his demons.

At this point Rocky is starting to believe it was all worth it. What confirms this is Rocky’s self-talk the last time he gets knocked down “what was is that you said to the kid? Is not about how hard you get hit, it’s about how hard you can get it and keep moving forward…GET UP! GET UP!

The fight ends, he is still standing. The beast is gone, the crowd roars and cheers, no one is laughing at him.

Leadership lesson: it will take some time and hard work, but above all, it takes belief.

I have to admit that throughout life I have been my worst enemy. I hold myself to very high standards. I beat up on myself when those standards aren’t met. I create doubts about my progress, growth or leadership. I use external forces as excuses. In the end, it’s all about me not believing in my dreams and passions.

I leave with a quote by James Allen,

 Man is buffeted by circumstances so long as he believes himself to be the creature of outside conditions, but when he realizes that he is a creative power, and that he may command the hidden soil and seeds of his being out of which circumstances grow, he then becomes the rightful master of himself.”

In what ways are you sabotaging yourself? What can you do about it?

Spanish

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

