Think Leadership – Tip#6 – Send Out the Invites

We have talked about your dream for the team.  Now it’s time to send out the invites.

The Law of Significance states 1 is too small a number to achieve greatness.

Jon Gordon in his book “The Energy Bus” talks about 2 rules regarding vision and getting people on the bus.

Rule #4 – Invite People on Your Bus and Share Your Vision for the Road Ahead

I have experienced many times how we limit ourselves thinking that others won’t support our ideas.  We come up with excuses and never really invite people to join the adventure.  Here are some insights I have learned along the way.

  • There are plenty of fish in the sea.
    • Everyone has different values and priorities.  We can’t expect everyone to join but we can be certain there are many with similar beliefs, values, and dreams.  I think of all those charities out there with so many supporters; not everyone joins them, but they have plenty of members.
  • At worst I break even.
    • If I ask and get a yes, I add value to the trip; if I get rejected, I’m at the same place.  But if I don’t ask, I lose the opportunity.
  • The Bus Expands.
    • The ones on the bus will start spreading the word to others with similar values.

Rule #5 – Don’t Waste Your Energy on Those Who Don’t Get On The Bus

I do this all the time.  I start worrying about what I could have done better, did something bother them, do they dislike me, etc.

To use a sports analogy.  Think about those moments in the game when the winning team starts losing ground.  They start tensing on their shots, forcing plays, swinging harder, etc.  They start worrying about not losing instead of focusing on what they can do.

The more energy spent worrying about the people who didn’t get on the bus, the less we will have for the people who are on.  Worrying about the people who didn’t get on the bus drains the energy needed to keep on asking new people to get on. – Jon Gordon

In what ways do you invite people on your bus?

Español

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

