Leadership Secret – Embody The Values

So what is this leadership secret? Great leaders:
#5 Embody The Values

The power is in the trust and credibility you build, not a specific set of values that represent the ‘right’ ones.” Not only do I win or lose credibility based on how well I embody the values, but I also set the tone and the example for my team. No one controls how well I do this except me. I guess it’s just part of being a leader.” – Excerpt from the book

If there’s one thing that annoys me the most is a person that like to brag about values, vision, mission, and purpose to then turn around and behave the opposite way.  This are the individual who like to say “Do as I say, not as I do”.  Do we really follow these persons? Personally, I tend to just nod, ignore, and keep doing my own thing.

I like to remind myself of John Maxwell’s – Law of the Picture – People Do What People See

To use a personal example the company I work for is trying to adopt the value of Thriving Together.  While many are intentional about collaboration and helping others win, I have had the opportunity to see leaders that become self-absorbed when the pressure is on and the deadlines start closing in.  These leaders will:

  • Close their office door.
  • Say “I don’t have time, can you figure it out on your own”.
  • say “That’s not my job.”
  • Point fingers on others.
  • Dump their problems on others.

What will be your reaction to the company’s efforts when you see leaders behaving like this?

At the end of the day, as leaders we are called to show, not teach, people how to lead themselves and others.

In what ways are you demonstrating the values you uphold?

Let Me Know What You Think

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

