Leaders are Different, says my Boss

I work hard to succeed, deliver, and outperform expectations.  I know my craft, I have good answers, pose good questions, work with others, and build great models.  I’m shooting for a promotion.  Promotion day comes and my boss says: “sorry you didn’t get it…Why not? Because leaders are different”

This is the story of many out there that got looked over for a leadership role.  Maybe this is your story.  I know it was mine.

No, I didn’t get the exact same words or the same situation, but I have gotten looked over or push aside because “I wasn’t ready”.

So the question is how are leaders different?

This is the question Mark Miller’s book – The HEART of Leadership answers.  In the following series of posts I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the concept of this insightful book.

Let’s begin this journey.

As I have grown in leadership and leading experiences I have come to realize that it takes a little more than great individual contribution to become a great leader.

Here are some things I naturally look for and expect from a leader.

  • Knowledge and guidance
    • I expect my leaders to not only know about work related subjects but also be able to provide thoughtful guidance on addressing my barriers in getting stuff done.
  • Honor their word and responsibilities
    • When something went wrong, I expect leaders to honor their part in the failure.  I also expect them to follow through with their promises.
    • Words don’t mean anything without actions to back them up.
  • Care about me as an individual
    • At the end of the day, I want to be treated as a person not a means to an end.
    • It’s a relationship between humans not man vs. machine.

Coincidentally, my expectations relate very well to the leadership traits discussed in Mark’s book.  What is the heart of leadership? Leaders:

  • Hunger for Wisdom
  • Expect the Best
  • Accept Responsibility
  • Respond with Courage
  • Think Others First.

I will share my take on these in the weeks to come.

Image

Español

One thought on “Leaders are Different, says my Boss

Add yours

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

