Why I Don’t Go To Work

Inspired by Simon Sinek’s “Start with Why” (18 min video if you like to watch) I have been pondering on this for a little while and I think it’s time to start sharing some of my thoughts. Simple question: If work is so annoying, why do I keep coming in? Some reason I’ve used to convince myself to go to work:

  • Socialize.
  • Important deadlines.
  • Paycheck.
  • There are bills to pay.
  • Important meetings.
  • E-mails to respond to.
  • The gym is close by.

These are good reasons but there are days when I couldn’t care less about work. “They don’t pay me enough for this crap” comes to mind every now and then.

Recently, I started realizing why I really go to work. My “Why” is not about what tasks I do but what I believe I can accomplish.

I keep going to this place called “work” but I’m not working. I’m changing people’s lives. The days I am at my best are when I’m making someone else’s life better. I’m coaching, training, or clearing the path for someone to work more effectively. I don’t go to work, I go to serve a greater purpose.

Tell me I have to work late because there’s a deadline coming, and I’ll find a way to work the least. Tell me someone needs my help and guidance with a problem, and I’ll invest my energy on making it better.

The former is starting with “what”; the latter, is the “Why”. People may pay for the “what” but they rave about the “Why”.

Like I said the other day “sell me the “What”, and I’ll give you bare minimum; sell me the “Why”, and I’ll give you heart, mind, and soul”. What’s your why?

 

Español

Let Me Know What You Think

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

