I Fight All The Time

I fight against:

  • My selfishness: My way is better.
  • Complexity: It’s easy to keep adding.
  • Adding too much value: I need to show how much I know.
  • Policies and Procedures: Following orders is the path of least resistance.
  • Fear of Failure: Mistakes are for fools.
  • Mediocrity: Go with the flow.
  • Negativity: Criticizing feels good.

These are my daily struggles as a leader. I even touched on these items in a prior post. I regularly find myself trying to solve everyone’s problems, wanting to right and letting rules displace common sense.

Sometimes it would be nice to just take a break from leading and just be average.

Trying to win all these challenges can be overwhelming and draining. Hence, I choose to focus my energy on items worth fighting for:

  • My passions: life is more fun when the heart is involved.
  • Simplicity: focus on the essentials. It’s about exclusivity and elimination of waste.
  • Service: “We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give.” – Winston Churchill

There are only three. It’s the why, the how, and the what.

I serve others to see them grow and develop. I use simplicity because no one remembers the hard stuff. And I do so because I believe people deserve to reach their potential and I am meant to help them get there.

I may not win the fight every day, but rest assure, I’m either up or standing up.

Challenges are what make life interesting. Overcoming them is what makes life meaningful. ~Joshua J. Marine

 

Español

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

