Why I Passed On A Pro-Baseball Contract

Yes, I did; and yes, I was that good. But…

Some may think this was a stupid decision but, like anyone else that chooses not to pursue a great opportunity, I had my reasons.

I Was Comfortable
At the time, I was used to having little to no responsibilities. All I had to do was go to class, eat, sleep, and clean my room.

Going pro meant going to a different country and fending for myself. Other than the tiny monthly allowance for personal expenses, I was going to be all by myself. I would have gone from one extreme to the other.

I Didn’t Value Myself
This was a straight violation of The Law of The Mirror – You Must Value Yourself to Add Value to Yourself.

I didn’t think I was good or worthy enough.

I always found ways to invalidate the great feedback from coaches and players.

In other words, I was always looking for excuses to validate my beliefs about my playing ability.
.

I Focused on The Wrong Things
I found many reasons to shut down the idea of being a professional baseball player. Here are some examples:

  • The signing bonus was tiny.
  • I had to make it to the MLB in order to receive the full amount.
  • I was going to miss college for several years.
  • I had too many mistakes on my swing.
  • I was going to be by myself.
  • It wasn’t the right time.

In my fixation with perfect performance I forgot to have fun and appreciate the opportunity to make a career out of something I loved to do.

In the end, I chose safety and comfort over passion and dreams.

The only thing I regret from this decision is missing the opportunity to have an experience that is not shared by everyone.

What excuses have you used to stop yourself from following your dreams?

 

Español

4 thoughts on “Why I Passed On A Pro-Baseball Contract

Add yours

  1. I am so sharing this with my son tonight. I want him (and everyone else in my family) to pursue their dreams. Thanks for sharing Juan.

    1. Happy that it helps someone. One of the things I didn’t mention is that my parents were also focused on the whats insured of the purpose and the why behind the opportunity. This, the law of the lid applies to the parents in this situations

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

