The Culture Sucks, so Why Do I Stay?

I was asked this question recently and I had to give it a little time to sink in.

No culture is perfect and any culture can be relatively successful. Nevertheless, I have come to believe that some cultures can be very painful regardless of the good intentions its leaders may have.

I dare to say we have all experienced this type of environment and here are three reasons why I have chosen to stay.

The Challenge

While some are motivated by compensation and perks, I am motivated by the “what if”. What if I can develop skills and strong relationships that can change the culture I am a part of. I stay in this type of culture to test my limits and people skills.

Real time Testing Grounds

There’s no better way to learn people skills than working in a chaotic environment. In a place were everything is random, expectations are ambiguous, guidance is lacking, and employees are another asset to be managed, the opportunity to test leadership concepts is immense.

Practicing one concept a week with a few people is all it takes to determine what works for me or not; and the beauty of this opportunity is the immediate feedback before and after the concept is applied. This is quick and simple way to estimate the impact a technique can have in performance, productivity, and engagement.

I encourage you to try this for a several weeks and share your findings.

I Can Choose To Make A Difference

A quote by Richard Bach says it best: You can choose to see the curse or the gift. And this one choice will determine if your life is a success story or one big soap opera.

We can you choose to moan or lead but we can’t do both at the same time. I choose to lead wherever I go.

What reasons do you have to stay?

Español

Let Me Know What You Think

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

