Fear No Other Than Yourself

“Be afraid of the one who can destroy both soul and body…” Matthew 10:28

This verse prompted a leadership thought.

About a year ago, I was struggling with finding purpose, feeling successful, and getting excited about going to work.

Most of these concerns were based on the appearances I had created over time, comments I heard from others, and how other perceived my actions.  In short, they were founded on things I couldn’t control.

So who is this that can destroy both body and soul? I am.

“I am my worst enemy” is a common saying.  Purpose, success, value, and motivation are all choices one has to make and no one else can decide for us.

Hence, in my whining about how I hadn’t grown in the last year, or achieved anything of value since I started working, this quote reminds me that I am my worst enemy.  I create doubt, fears, pressure, excuses, and victimize myself to justify my negative thoughts.

My questions to you are:

  • What are things you regularly do to become your worst enemy?
  • How are you destroying your both body and soul?

Your answer to these questions will make a difference in your attitude, which in the end, affects they way you lead yourself and others.

“I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.” ― Nelson Mandela.

Español

3 thoughts on “Fear No Other Than Yourself

Add yours

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

