Until The Whistle Blows

This week I was reminded of this video by Michael Hyatt’s Article or Podcast.

There are 3 laps in this race. What would you do if you fall flat on your face with 1 lap to go?

There were two moments in the video that connected with me the most.

How quickly she stood up
Heather stood up without hesitation. In 3 seconds she was already going faster than before she went down.

Personally, whenever life hits me with a “haymaker” I tend to second guess standing up.

One moment that comes to mind is when I shared the contradictions between what someone said and did and their impact on engagement. There was nothing inappropriate about e-mail except for the fact that the person involved was a senior leader of the company.

What happen after I got reprimanded? I quit sharing ideas on leadership for an extended period of time.

How oblivious she was to what just happened.

At the end of the race, you can see in Heather’s face that she wasn’t even thinking about what just happened. All she knew is that she finished the race and met her goal.

I had a similar moment when I stood up in front of 200+ people and asked our CEO for ways to hold my leaders accountable for directly contradicting the company’s new smart casual dress code. At that moment, I didn’t think much of it. But as people kept coming to thank me for the question and how they wanted to ask the same thing, I realized I did something that not many would have done.

 “And once the storm is over, you won’t remember how you made it through, how you managed to survive. You won’t even be sure, whether the storm is really over. But one thing is certain. When you come out of the storm, you won’t be the same person who walked in. That’s what this storm’s all about.” ― Haruki Murakami

 

Español

2 thoughts on “Until The Whistle Blows

Add yours

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

