3 Steps I Use To Build a Vision

There are many resources about the importance and characteristics of a great vision. Today, I just want to share what I do to come up with one.

Check the Think Leadership series for the characteristics of a great vision.

Work or personal, I use these 3 steps to develop a vision.

#1 – Forget About Others For a Moment

I don’t know about you but in order to develop an idea I need some time alone to think, reflect, and let life catch up to me.

I need private time in order to get to know myself. If I don’t know what a like to do, what I would like to do, what I’m passionate about ,and what I value most, how can I come up with a picture of a better future?

No one can produce great things who is not thoroughly sincere in dealing with himself. – James Russell Lowell

#2 – Break The Rules

The rules of today are not going to takes us to a better tomorrow. Wherever I go and whatever I do, I’m always looking for ways to break the mold.

Insights are never born from following the rules diligently. I don’t look for vision within the existing boundaries. To me, the rules are what makes the box, and vision is all about building and discovering what lies beyond the walls of the box.

This commercial by Apple represent what I believe “breaking the rules” mean.

#3 – Talk To Your Future Self

While I’m not crazy enough to talk to myself out loud, I spend a lot of my thinking time talking to myself in the future.

Whenever I’m designing an idea of what success may look like, I’m mentally taking several steps forwards and visualizing what’s happening during and after I take the steps. After all, if I can’t see and feel the future success there’s no way I’m going to be able to describe it to others.

How do you develop your vision? What keeps you from moving towards the realization of your dreams?

Español

2 thoughts on “3 Steps I Use To Build a Vision

Add yours

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

