Would You Consider 4 Ideas About The Leadership Development Process?

The Law of Process: leadership develops daily, not in a day. – John Maxwell

I started filing leadership resources on September 11, 2012. My first note was a quote by Dan Rockwell: “If you aren’t giving enough feedback, you aren’t getting enough, either.”

Today, I have over 1,000 notes from articles, blogs, lesson, seminars and books, in a span of two and half years. This averages to about 1 note per day.

These notes cover over 100 topics and helped me write 200 blogs.

This very small discipline of filing 1 note per day is an investment of 10 minutes a day in exchange for the opportunity of making a difference in someone’s life.

What have I learned?

I. It’s progress not perfection
When I first started filing, I spent a lot of time planning how the quotes needed to be organized and tagged. I think I spent more time perfecting my system than filing.

Imagine my freedom when, with the help of Jason Freed, I realized there was no point on perfecting my hot dog cart if I had no hot dogs to sell!

Sometimes we have to forget about “knowing how” and simply start doing it.

II. It’s designed by me
In the beginning, I spent many hours studying how other people’s filing systems worked. It took a few weeks to realize that no specific system worked perfectly for me.

What did I do? I took the best ideas, added my own, and started using a customized system. Is it perfect? No, but it’s what works for me.

III. It’s more habit than motivation
Sometimes I don’t “feel” like going to the gym but somehow I end up going anyway. And many times, I surprise myself by beating a personal best.

To recall the law of consistency: “motivation gets you going, discipline keeps you growing.”

IV. It needs clear purpose
As part of my rookie mistakes, I was subscribed to a dozen leadership newsletters, buying a book every week, and listening to leadership lessons at all times.

It’s not surprise how overwhelmed I was when I realized I had over 100 books to read, hundreds of unread leadership e-mails to process, and dozens of hours of audio to review and process.

Too much of a good thing can become a detriment to productivity. I needed a way to funnel the content and filter what was a necessity and what was just excitement. I needed a purpose.

Allow me to summarize these 4 lessons by quoting Jon Gordon:

Everyday focus on your purpose. Remember why you do what you do. We don’t get burned out because of what we do. We get burned out because we forget why we do it.

 

Español

4 thoughts on “Would You Consider 4 Ideas About The Leadership Development Process?

Add yours

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

