Sometimes You Wanna Go Where Everybody Knows Your Name

The current generation may not recognize the show or song, but I’m certain we can all identify with it.

In order to become what I am today, I had to go through some very rough patches. And it was at those moments, that I missed my friends and family the most. What’s funny about it all is that in the toughest moments we tend to isolate ourselves while, at the same time, craving the comfort of companions.

It is in this context that I share what I find most helpful about this kind of place.

  1. Energy
    Whether you are introverted, extroverted or somewhere in between, we all need a time to breakaway from the routine and recharge. What better way to recharge than going to a place where everyone knows us?

    I remember going to a bowling alley just to disconnect from college responsibilities, ponder on life, reflect on the day, chat with the staff, or people watch. By the end of this visits, I was energized and ready to face the world once again.

  2. Support
    In times of stress, it is good to know of a place in which I can find people I can relate to.

    A circle of friends that can provide comfort, a shoulder to lean against and a listening ear.

    This is a group of people that create a sense of safety. They let us know that whatever happens, they will help us get back up.

  3. Comedic Relief
    Stephen Colbert said “you can’t laugh and be afraid at the same time”. I have to agree with him.

    There’s something powerful about laughing and having a good time. I have been in situations that are so horrible that the only thing left is to laugh. And somehow, that makes it all better.

    Have you noticed that when you laugh, good memories come to mind?

Share your ideas and reactions in the comments below

 

Español

2 thoughts on “Sometimes You Wanna Go Where Everybody Knows Your Name

Add yours

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

