New Regime: What I Choose To Focus On

In my prior blog I talked about dealing with a change by recognizing it is part of progress; and by focusing on the things we can control.

Today I take a brief moment to discuss the main areas I choose to focus on when dealing with change.

Is there an alignment on values? I may be on board with the values of the current company or team but if the new regime is brings totally different set of values, I may have to reconsider my commitment to the company.

Is there consistency between words and action? This is another “get to know them” question that focuses on trust. Ralph Waldo Emerson says it best, “What you do thunders so loudly in my ears I cannot hear what you say.” If I can’t see proof of what is being said, it may be time to find something else.

I can help close the gaps. I not only going to deliver my best consistently, I also want to address on the biggest needs. In the process of closing gaps I can make myself invaluable to the team. Whether I like to admit it or not, results are a powerful tool.

I choose to see the opportunity. Since the new regime needs to get acquainted with everything, now is the chance to try new ideas, offer to help, request new assignments, get rid of old ones, test culture changes, etc.

I can turn fear into focus. Rather than worrying about what could happen to my job I can choose to focus improving my performance. Maybe this is the nudge I needed to get moving again.

I can prepare for the negative outcome. This is about taking the steps towards setup myself for the next stage in life. This includes but is not limited to learning any transferable skills, defining what the next step could be, redefining priorities, and developing a contingency plan.

This is my list, it doesn’t have to be yours. My point is still the same; the new regime doesn’t change my dream…at worst, it changes my approach to get there.

We are not victims of our situation. We are the architects of it. – Simon Sinek

 

Español

2 thoughts on “New Regime: What I Choose To Focus On

Add yours

Let Me Know What You Think

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

