A Lesson In Courage: For Professionalism or For Honor?

A controversial finish to a soccer match between Mexico and Panama. Something the following video gives some context.

For those who do not follow soccer, I explain the context as follows.

You have come across a great opportunity. An opportunity that comes unfairly and you know you do not deserve it because it should have never existed. You have two options: do your job as a professional and take advantage of the opportunity to save your team from a bad result; or do the right thing and not compromise your principles and reject the opportunity knowing the danger you put your career and your team in.

What would you do?

It is a very difficult decision. It is a decision that can define the type of person or leader, we are.

Perhaps we can say:

  • It’s not my fault.
  • It’s my job to deliver results.
  • I have to help my team.
  • I was told that I had to.
  • Others would have done the same thing.
  • This is life.

I wonder, At what price? What is better? ¿Honor or Glory?

Reflecting, I’d like to say I’d choose to stay true to my values ​​and do the right thing. But when we are in the moment, and the pressure is immense, I could not say with certainty what I’d do.

One thing is certain, these decisions are what distinguish great leaders from mediocre ones. Leaders who are able to do the right thing no matter the circumstances. It’s a matter of being true to our values . It is something that requires a lot of courage to stand firm.

God grant me the courage not to give up what I think is right even though I think it is hopeless. – Chester W. Nimitz

 

Spanish

Let Me Know What You Think

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

