I Think I Know Why People Like Shows Like Jersey Shore

…because it makes us feel better about ourselves.

This one is a brief rant with a message.

This week as I hopped on the treadmill for a thinking time walk, one of the TVs had the Jersey Shore on. I watched a few scenes, about 5 minutes or so, and came to the realization I stated in the beginning.

I mean, it only took a few seconds to starts with the judgmental thoughts:

  • How can they drink all day long?
  • How can she wear that?
  • How can he make out with 2 people at once and then go the girlfriend and say “I love you”?
  • I can’t believe people watch this stuff!
  • They get paid to do this stupid things?
  • She’s so dumb.
  • He’s such a jerk.

And the list goes on.

You get my point. In 5 minutes, I managed to find many reason as to why I am such a much better person than those on the show and I don’t even know these people.

What’s most interesting about it is how quickly this mindset starts and how addictive it becomes. I found myself wanting to see more just to see the next stupid stuff they would say or do.

Here’s where I see the lesson: the more we watch this type of show, the more we feel better about ourselves, the more we become complacent.

After all, by compare myself to something that’s average and considering myself better, I’ll find reasons to think there’s no need for me to become better if the average Joe can be successful.

Here’s the kicker. Many of these people have found ways to make even more money thanks to the fame we gave them by watching the stupid show.

So who’s the wiser person, the viewer or the one that found ways to take advantage of the opportunity?

Have you found yourself doing the same thing? What are your thoughts?

 

Español

2 thoughts on “I Think I Know Why People Like Shows Like Jersey Shore

Add yours

  1. Watching stuff like that not only can put us in a spot of complacency, but also in a spot of thinking we’re better than all of society. (Maybe that’s where the complacency comes from.) If you were to ask everyone on the street if they’re a better person than the average human being, I bet about 90-95% of them would say yes. TV shows like that make us all feel that way.

    On the other hand, it’s dangerous to think we’re worse than the average person, unless it leads to constructive growth. Either way, as we read in 15 Laws of Growth, as soon as we stop growing (no matter where we are or what we’ve done in life), we start dying.

    1. Yes sir. Our need to feel valued is so strong that it is natural for us to look for ways to make us feel better.

      We walk around expecting the external to determine our happiness and fulfillment; oblivious to the fact that fulfillment only comes from within.

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

