The 80%

Today’s blog is a guest post by Henry Kimsey-House, co-author of Co-Active Leadership.

I hope you like it. Be sure to check back in the following days for my comments and insights on the Henry and Karen Kimsey-House, Co-Active Leadership.


The 80%

There are 7.13 Billion Human Beings on this planet and one in five of them are connected through Facebook. That is almost 20% of the Human Population that has direct access to each other through one click. That is truly astonishing. And it still makes you wonder about the other four out of five. Who are they? Where are they? What are they up to, this 80% of the world’s population?

I am pretty sure that when I leave my house and go out into the world I move around in, 80-90% of the people I see know what Facebook is and most, if not all, of those folks are hooked in through Facebook. That means that I am moving around in a world that 85% of humanity is not moving around in. When I travel to other countries, I am still moving around in that same world, the percentages may change somewhat but not much.

Part of my life purpose statement is “to point and protect the evolution of human consciousness.” That statement is a powerful, from some perspectives even arrogant, thing to claim as a reason for being alive. And yet the consciousness that I am pointing to and protecting currently lives in the minds and bodies of that 15% that I see and connect with on Facebook. Evolution of consciousness is happening, I assert, with all of life including 100% of humanity.

So of course at the level of universal love and connection I am pointing and protecting human consciousness just fine, thank you very much. And yet at another level there is this vast pool of consciousness that is not in my awareness as I move around my life. It exists in stories, music, pictures and news accounts for me. It exists in my imagination and in my visioning. It exists in the earth itself if and when I slow down enough to feel into it.

There is no way that this body can put itself in front of the other 85%. There is no book I can write, no movie I can make, no celebrity I can achieve in any kind of venue that could create that kind of visibility. So in order to feel into that other 85% I am going to have to do it through a spiritual connection to all of life. I am going to have to keep opening up my consciousness to the EcoSoma, the energy body of the earth to feel the pain and the joy, the fear and the exhilaration, the grief and the love, and the closed and open consciousness of my fellow human beings.

I am going to breathe in from every receptor in my soma what is happening with the consciousness of my fellow humans and breathe out encouragement and gratitude and prayers of finding the way down this path and into the mystery of what lies beyond.

I can do that.

Re-worked from original posts on Henry’s blog https://henrykh.wordpress.com/

Henry Kimsey-House is the co-author of Co-Active Leadership and Co-Active Coaching. He is the co-founder of the Coaches Training Institute (CTI) where he currently serves as Lead Designer. Learn more about Henry’s work at http://www.thecoaches.com or connect with him on Twitter @henrykh


Español

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

