The Two Fallacies About Time

alt-text

We have talked about two of the three gaps preventing us from making a difference: Belief Window and the Values Gap.

The third gap is time. It’s the gap between what we want to do with out time and how we actually spend it._

Recently, I have been paying more attention to the tasks I set for the day vs. the tasks I actually complete. At first, it was disheartening to see how many days I repeated the exact same task before it was completed. Now, I use it as an adjustment tool and to recognize what I’m allowing to create distractions.

Hence, I wanted to share two (2) mistakes I did when trying to be more productive.

No.1 – Believing I could find more time.
I spent a lot of time figuring out how could I find more time on the schedule. Somehow, I thought by making sure every hour of the day was accounted for, I would HAVE MORE TIME!

Nope. It’s the same amount of time broken down into more pieces.

No.2 – Believing I could save time.
In order to get more things done in the same amount of time, I tried multitasking. Like attending a meeting virtually so that I could do something else while “listening.”

The longest I tried multitasking, the more I found myself distracted and incapable to focus on a specific project. All I wanted to do was nothing.

This all ended with me getting farther behind.

Saving time is a ridiculous notion.

Hyrum W. Smith, calls these mistakes the Fallacies of time. The thinking that we can control time.

Whether we like it or not, time keeps moving forward.

The key to close the time gap is properly using time to do the activities that get us closer to our goals.

 

How will you invest your time now?

 

Español

Let Me Know What You Think

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

