One Passport, One Word, A Different Nation

alt-text

As I reflect on what I just experienced in Paraguay, I can’t seem to get past the place of origin.

A lady carrying only her passport to ask for the autograph of the top leadership guru in the world. A single word, “Transformation”, provides the spark that lights the fire of her dreams. A few years later, I’m part of a Paraguayan journey I will not forget.

A few questions stay with me: what is holding me back from doing something similar? Where does my story begin?

John C. Maxwell had no idea his word would result in the change of a nation. Gaby had no clue how “Transformation” would play a role in the events to come. Heck, she didn’t even know the president of her country, Paraguay. Where would I even begin to take action in transforming a nation?

I don’t know Gaby but here are THREE (3) things I learned from seeing the results of her commitment to make it happen.

1. I don’t know when or how the dream will call
I doubt John or Gaby knew what they were getting into the moment passport page and pen touched. I doubt Gaby had the connections necessary. I doubt John knew the lawmakers of Paraguay. But the dream showed up anyway.

This tells me that dreams show up in unexpected ways and places. It tells me that I will not know the time and place; I’ll just hear the calling.

2. I won’t be ready when it happens
Who do I talk to? Where should I start? Do I have the money? Who’s going to listen to me? What am I going to say? Am I good enough? All these questions will most likely come up when my dream knocks on the door.

Gaby had to make a lot of changes in order to open the space for this dream to take root. I can only imagine the overwhelming pressure of pitching the idea of changing her country to people in high places.

Transformation Paraguay taught me readiness is not a requirement for making a dream reality. All that is required is the will to do it.

3. I won’t be able to do it alone
My mentor John C. Maxwell said it best with his Law of Significance: One is too small a number to achieve greatness. Gaby’s dream is another example of this law.

  • Over 250 coaches and trainers
  • Dozens individuals managing resources
  • Hundreds of meetings
  • Hundreds of hosts, companies, and government companies
  • Over 15,000 participants trained
  • And the list goes on

Gaby wasn’t alone on the journey and she won’t be alone going forward. The dream is bigger than one person.

What I learned from this experience is that I’m not good enough to make my dream a reality just by myself. Along the way, I’ll need a lot of help, partners, mentors, assistants, etc. As John likes to say teamwork makes the dream work.

So, where does my story begin? It already has. How about yours?

 

Español

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

