A Quote That Has Changed My Life

I wrote this reflection back in August 2015.

Seven (7) months later it’s still applicable and it’s something I validate at least once a week.

I have taken steps forward to effect a culture change. I have taken steps in fighting my gremlins. And what I have loved the most is recognizing that awareness is one of the most valuable tools for growth.

I hope my words inspire you to discover a new level of awareness.


Until you make the unconscious conscious, it will rule your life and you will call it fate. – Carl Jung

Recently, I have had the privilege to have a conversation with my gremlin. I call him JohnnyPoo and I know him well. It’s my inner critic. It’s the voice that likes me to be comfortable. It’s the persona that stops me from doing something because it wants to “protect” me.

Up until a couple weeks ago, what I said, did, and believed weren’t in alignment. I found myself thinking I could change the culture around me but then I proceeded to sabotage my stories, my writing, my feedback, my suggestions. All disguised with beliefs like “I don’t want to be in the spotlight” or “I don’t want to offend someone”. Hence, what I said was trumped by what I believed.

Today, it’s a different story. I became aware of this gremlin (unconscious), and I can now choose and decide how I’m going to react against it. In other words, I have control over what I choose to do and don’t do instead of my gremlin dictating my actions unconsciously.

Carl Jung was right.

I now laugh about the years I spent stopping short of taking action on my dreams because of the fear of challenging someone’s perspective of the world or thinking I was not good enough for my dreams.

The fact is once we become aware of what’s holding us back we can never go back. We might like to say ignorance is bliss; but I can now say awareness is more powerful, meaningful, and fulfilling.


 

Español

2 thoughts on “A Quote That Has Changed My Life

Add yours


  1. Until you make the unconscious conscious, it will rule your life and you will call it fate. – Carl Jung ”

    I’ve been amazed at the unconscious thoughts and motivations that push us that we aren’t even aware are there. Flushing them out in the open where we can deal with (or just observe them) is sooo key. This can be hard because if we see it clearly then we are pressured to change and sometimes we don’t want to or are afraid to change. But knowing what’s going on in our heads, the recurring patterns of our thoughts, is an essential firt step, I believe.

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

