WHO do you want to be? Not WHAT but WHO?

I have been facilitating the discussion of Arnold’s Schwarzenegger’s 6 rules of success. It’s been a fun discussion and there has been a lot of thinking on my part. Below video for reference (4:28)

 

Today, I’d like to cover rule #1: Trust Yourself

Whenever I think about “trusting myself” I have to go to the words belief or faith.

Take a journey with me. I’ll use my baseball story, as it relates to Arnold’s rule and the title of this blog.

In the blog, I shared three (3) reasons why I declined the professional contract.

  • Who do you supposed I wanted to be when I said ‘no’?
  • How much do you think I trusted myself?
  • Why do you think I focused on the wrong things?

Simple…belief…or lack thereof.

I just couldn’t believe in myself enough to see success as a professional baseball player. It was this belief that caused me to look at my past to find evidence to substantiate the rejection. And yet, the fact still was two professionals thought I could do it and offered me a contract. Six years later, I developed the best swing of my life. It was so good that someone asked me if I played professional baseball. By then, it was too late.

Believe in yourself and all that you are. Know that there is something inside you that is greater than any obstacle. — Christian D. Larson

The question I’m really asking with this blog is: Do you believe in yourself enough to trust that you can become the person your heart desires? Do you believe it is possible for you to try and fail so many times that you become great at what you love to do in such a way that it reflect WHO you want to become?

Back then, I let my parents drive too much of what I did. Not to say they told me what to do, but I gave their opinions a lot more value than mine. _My parents knew a lot about life but they couldn’t really know a lot about my passions because I didn’t know them well and I didn’t talk about it much._If I don’t know my passions, how can someone else?

I don’t really have much advice for you on how to find “trust” in yourself other than encouraging you to answer the questions I typed two paragraphs above. I encourage you to challenge what you believe about yourself; to challenge all reasons for doubt because I know the past doesn’t determine the future. There’s no predictive formula, just learning moments in our past.

If you ever feel you need someone to think things through, contact me on Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIN, contact me, or comment below.

For now, I leave you with these words of wisdom:

alt-text

 

Español

2 thoughts on “WHO do you want to be? Not WHAT but WHO?

Add yours

Let Me Know What You Think

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

