A True Original Doesn’t Play By The Rules

I continue with my discussion of Arnold’s Schwarzenegger’s 6 rules of success.

If you missed rule #1. You can read it here.

Today, I touch on rule #2: Break The Rules.

And I’ll do it by sharing a marketing add from Apple.

In Arnold’s 1, there’s a line that relates to Apple’s commercial, it’s impossible to be a maverick or a true original if you are too well behaved and don’t want to break the rules.

When I think about the individuals shown in the Apple video, I can’t think of better examples of people that chose to break the normal in pursuit of a better world.

Think about it. The world we live in today has changed thanks to people that chose to do what no one else had done.

Allow me to ask: how much longer are you going to let the world dictate what you can or can’t do? How long until you step over the edge of the box and bet on yourself and your dream?

Here are some ways I have chosen to break the rules in order to live a life that matters:

  • By approaching projects looking for forgiveness rather than permission.
  • By facilitating study groups that have not been approved by HR.
  • By showing emotion when presenting my points.
  • By sharing my mistakes and flaws freely.
  • By publicly stating a goal of running a company wide leadership study group and conference.
  • By refusing to be politically correct.

I know. These don’t sound like big ticket items but think about the commitment it takes to go against the grain and break the unspoken rules. How many times have you been less than honest with yourself out of fear of what others may think, how the boss would react, because someone may get offended, or because the VIP said it?

I think what I’m saying is my success did not come from doing things the way they have always been done.

You have to think outside the box…after all what’s the point of being in this world, if all you want to do is be liked by everyone and avoid trouble? – Arnold Schwarzenegger

 

Español

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

