What Are You Thinking? It Has Never Been Done Before

Arnold’s 4th rule of success: Don’t Listen To The Naysayers

alt-text

Political correctness in success

Several people along my career have told me that I needed to be more politically correct in order to succeed. They said that I needed to be careful with my words, stay away from qualifying terms, and to use techniques like the sandwich method of feedback.

Where they right? Not really. While it is true that I had to learn to use better words and to improve my delivery, it is not a fact that success requires political correctness.

What I have learned, experienced, and observed is that people want respect. A respect that comes from being honest and transparent with people. Do you realize how much effort it takes to be politically correct? The message gets so muffled and ambiguous that everyone leaves more confused.

Too young to be talking

I have also had people tell me “who do you think you are by talking about leadership?” I share it with you, right now. I’m the one…

  • …out there tending to the needs of people that are looking for guidance to get to the next level and don’t receive any training because the organizational chart shows no direct reports.
  • …choosing to share his biggest failures so that those coming behind don’t make the same mistakes.
  • …adding value out of purpose rather than motivated by a paycheck.
  • …willing to fail trying to be the lighthouse for others instead of a judge waiting to condemn.
  • …that’s leading without a title and telling it like it is.

It worked for me. It took a while but I’m proving them wrong.

I don’t consider this a powerful story but there’s something to be said when dozens of people reach out to me for advice because I’m willing to be “brutally” honest.

My friend, here’s what I do with the opinions of the naysayers: clean the floor with them.

…I love it when someone says that no one has ever done it before because if I do it, that means that I’m the first one that has done it. So pay no attention to the people that say it can’t be done. – Arnold Schwarzenegger

Final thoughts

The opinion that matters most is your own. Talk to yourself more often. Listen to what you are saying to yourself. Talk yourself into following your dream because nothing can hold you back other than yourself.

I’ll finish with a question.

Plato said: “People are like dirt. They can either nourish you and help you grow as a person or they can stunt your growth and make you wilt and die.”

In what type of dirt are you going to plant your passions, hopes, and dreams?

 

Español

One thought on “What Are You Thinking? It Has Never Been Done Before

Add yours

  1. Great reminder Juan. Getting to choose what dirt you invest in is a very important decision. I enjoy your value added motive and brutal honesty. Make it a Super+Fantastic day!

Let Me Know What You Think

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

