There Is No Success In Giving?

Arnold’s 6th and final rule of success is give something back.1

But is there success in giving back?

I know many people who live life thinking there’s only one pie for all of us and when it is gone it’s gone. For them, giving is a stupid idea because it means they have less.

I also know of others that confuse giving with trading. Meaning, they give expecting a return in full or better. They charge interest.

I’ve had the same mentality too.

  • Why should I help that bad person?
  • When is he going to pay for my lunch? I pay all the time.
  • If I don’t stay close to the car in front of me, someone is going to cut in.
  • Why should I help when I don’t know if they’ll appreciate it?
  • Why should I help if I’m not going to be recognized for it?
  • If I teach them what I know, they’ll take my job.

You can add to the list.

I’m happy to report that my mindset has changed for the better.

When I think about where I am in my career and what I did the 12 years since I started, I now see a clear link between my giving and my success. In clearer terms, my compensation has been directly impacted by what I have given.

No, this is not about my promotions being a direct result of the help I provided, but about me getting all the opportunities to get promotions because of the amount of giving I did. A giving that goes beyond the role description. A giving that looks to help someone else improve their performance.

It was my giving that allowed others to stand up for me when I made huge mistakes. My giving, indirectly, gave me a lot of second chances; which ultimately, gave me enough time to make it right.

I don’t have a solid answer to prove there is success in giving, but I can swear that giving has gotten me where I am today.

I end this series with a few quotes on giving. Let me know which one catches your attention.

  • Let me tell you something, reaching out and helping people will bring you more satisfaction than anything else you have ever done. ~ Arnold Schwarzenegger
  • There are two kinds of gratitude: the sudden kind we feel for what we receive, and the larger kind we feel for what we give. ~ Edward Arlington Robinson
  • That’s what I consider true generosity. You give your all, and yet you always feel as if it costs you nothing. ~ Simone De Beauvoir
  • What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world remains and is immortal. ~ Albert Pike

alt-text

 

Español

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

