The Stories That Form Our Reality

alt-text

 

  • I need to see you in my office.
  • We need to talk.
  • Why did you…?
  • Why the silence after I speak?
  • I can never…
  • I am always…

What’s the meaning you gave to each phrase? How did you complete the sentences?

When we hear the words “perception is reality”, we are really talking about the stories formed by our perception of our environment.

I vividly remember the time I was in an office talking to my manager and his manager and I starting crying and said I have no future here.

That was about 5 years ago. I truly believed it.

I had stopped making progress in my career. I had a bad reputation. I wasn’t adding much value. And my ideas were being ignored.

In short, I used all the current facts of my life and started building a case against me. I built a story that said given all these facts, there is no way I’ll ever do something significant for this company.

Given that I still work for the same company, I couldn’t have been more wrong.

Think about this for a moment. If the “no future” story was true, how come am I still working for the company?

And it really isn’t about just working there.

  • My responsibilities have expanded.
  • I’m leading the formation of a new culture.
  • I’m doing what I want to do.
  • And my influence keeps growing.

No. I’m not flawless. I still have plenty of room for improvement. What changed? The stories I told myself.

I started to see and believe that facts can be changed and I had the power to choose differently.

I am the same person but not the same man. Whoever I was back then no longer exists. The stories I tell today are totally different.

THE TAKEAWAY
Pay close attention to the stories you have been telling yourself so far. Take some time to travel to your past and see how many times you have proven yourself wrong. How did you change? How are your thoughts different?

You may think the life you have today is your reality. But it is definitely not your truth.

 

What are the stories you are allowing to form your reality?

 

Español

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

