What To Do When “You Don’t Feel Like It”

I was having a rough day Wednesday. I had a mentally draining meeting in the morning. I was feeling weak and sick. I was having trouble concentrating, and I didn’t feel like working out.

Notwithstanding, I went to gym with a simple thought: I’m going to try a couple sets of deadlifts and if I still feel bad after it, I’ll go home.”

Hey, at least I could say “I tried.”

Interestingly enough, not only did I do well, I ended up feeling strong and beat my personal record by 50lbs…easily. I went from 405lbs to 455lbs for a one rep maximum.

What happened to feeling tired and drained?

alt-text

The feat of lifting 455lbs off the floor isn’t that impressive relative to how much I weigh and ‘competition’ standards. What’s impressive is the fact all the negative energy vanished.

My body was ready to get some work done; my mind, on the other hand, wasn’t.

Have you used any of these statements?

  • I don’t feel like it.
  • I should do it but I don’t feel comfortable, yet.
  • I just don’t feel ready.
  • The timing doesn’t feel right.

Me too.

Here’s the lesson

The mind likes to play games. Similar to how a marathon runner hits ‘the wall’ and yet finds a way to finish the race, our minds use emotions to make us thinks we can wait.

All it took for me to hit a new personal record was the willingness to take the first step and decide after evaluating results.

As the process kept going, I realized that the weight was feeling light. I noticed how I had a lot of strength. The more positive results I got, the more I started believing I could finish. By the end of the workout, I was fully awake and energized by what I had just accomplished.

There are times when we have to prove ourselves wrong by simply taking the first step forward.

If you keep waiting to feel comfortable or the feel the right time, you’ll may end up waiting forever.

It had long since come to my attention that people of accomplishment rarely sat back and let things happen to them. They went out and happened to things.” – Leonardo Da Vinci

 

Español

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Let Me Know What You Think

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

