2 Thoughts Why Success Doesn’t Require Schooling

You read that right.

Is not the letters after your name, the top tier college degree, the doctorates, or whether your school was public or private. We have this diploma thing all wrong.

It only takes several minutes talking to our friend Google to figure out there are plenty of millionaires out there without a high school diploma.

I know what you are going to say:

  • That’s them, not me.
  • Those are outliers.
  • Those were different times.
  • They got lucky.

Our reasons don’t change the fact that someone out there was able to pursue their dreams and be successful in spite of the absence of a formal degree.

I share 2 thoughts on the matter.

I – It’s not schooling; it’s learning

Let me ask you a few questions:

  • How many people have you met with an amazing resume but can’t do the job to save their life?
  • How many “highly educated” unemployed people do you know?
  • How much of what you learned in school are you implementing at work?
  • How much do you remember from your college classes?

Relax. I’m not saying schooling is useless, I’m simply saying that learning is more important.

All those successful people without diplomas didn’t stop developing their skills. They just gathered knowledge outside of the schooling system.

Think about it for a moment. Everyone has access to the same books we used in school. These days, the Internet makes it possible for anyone to learn about anything.

The first step toward success is taken when you refuse to be a captive of the environment you first find yourself in. – Mark Caine

II – The degree is a waste if you don’t know what you are meant to do in life

I regularly hear from individuals that spent over 6 years in college just to end up working in something totally different from what they studied.

Discovering our purpose is a process that requires us to experience the world. How many of us get to do that while we spend 20+ years of our life walking in and out of a classroom under the premise that we are learning the skills to survive? What a bunch of bologna.

Maybe you had a different experience but when I got my first full-time job I had to learn everything from scratch. Zero percent of what I studied in college was useful. Talk about money well spent!

The good thing was that I picked a degree that was close to my talents and opened the door for me to learn more about myself.

My point is simple: pick an area of study that’s of interest to you and not something that others tell you is a “good” profession.

In summary

The journey to success and to do what you love requires a lot more than letters after your name. Yes, degrees open doors but they aren’t the only path to follow.

alt-text

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

