10 Ideas I’m Thinking About From the #IMC2016

I just finished a packed week of leadership lessons at the International Maxwell Certification event in Orlando, FL.

Spending time with a group of people with similar values is an experience that can’t be described. I have plenty of notes to process but I wanted to share some of the notes I have from the several sessions I attended.

  1. The awareness of knowing what’s the next step doesn’t really come up when I am trying to find the next step.
  2. There’s a part that knows we can do it and a part of us that knows we can’t do it. The question is which one are you going to let run your life?
  3. “Most people surrender what they want for what’s familiar.” – Paul Martinelli
  4. Get really really busy following your dreams so you don’t even know how uncomfortable you are.
  5. There’s no difference between good intentions and bad intentions except good intentions make me a nicer person.
  6. Procrastination never lets you get to the door of opportunity. – John C. Maxwell
  7. You have plenty of experiences regardless of how plain your life may be.
  8. “Vision is what you see; culture is what you are doing.” – John C. Maxwell
  9. Cooperation is “Let’s work together”. Collaboration is “I want to work together.” – John C. Maxwell
  10. “When you value people you have more desire to connect with them than correct them.” – John C. Maxwell

These are just a few of the notes I have. Yet there’s one question that stuck out with me the most and it was said by Ivan Misner, founder of BNI:

The most important part of your story is ‘whose story are you in?’ – Ivan Misner

I’ll probably blog about this one some more in the coming days. For now, let me know which phrase triggers the most thoughts for you.

 

Español

2 thoughts on “10 Ideas I’m Thinking About From the #IMC2016

Add yours

  1. “4. Get really really busy following your dreams so you don’t even know how uncomfortable you are.”

    Being busy forces you to think about your priorities, and negative thoughts/emotions are low on the priority list, so they get kicked out first! When I decided to take on the role of youth minister at my church ON TOP OF my full time job at Humana, I was worried about that affecting my family quality time. In the end, it’s doing the opposite; it’s forcing me to be more intentional about quality family time.

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

