What’s The Most Important Part of Your Life?

I said last week that I would expand on the quote by Ivan Misner, founder of B.N.I.

He said: the most important part of your life is whose story you are in.

To me, it was very insightful because he’s context was targeted at living a life of significance; while mine, was based on me being the creator of my own story.

Allow me to expand on these different perspectives.

No. 1 – Creator of my own story

It’s been a several years since I read Jon Gordon’s book, The Energy Bus. Yet, it’s only six months since I understood his words “be the driver of your own bus.”

For many years, I did what others told me I should do in order to achieve success. Thus, when Ivan started his statement, “the most important part of your story is…”, I filled in the blanks with to write my own story not someone else’s.

If you don’t design your own life plan, chances are you’ll fall into someone else’s plan. And guess what they have planned for you? Not much. – Jim Rohn

I regularly meet unhappy people. They share their pains and struggles about the things they don’t have and how the world is happening to them. But when I ask “what do you really want?”, they don’t have an answer.

I was one of them. I was living someone else’s story.

How much of the life you have today is part of your story?

5 Tips for creating your own story?

  1. Take the Intentional Living 7-Day Experiment to discover your passion.
  2. Write down your own definition of success.
  3. Create a list of reasons ‘why’ your story matters. The longer the better.
  4. Start setting and acting on priorities based on your definition of success.
  5. Take it one step at a time. It’s a marathon not a sprint.

No. 2 – Becoming a character in someone else’s story

Ivan’s was suggesting us to pay attention to the impact we have is someone else’s life. It was about making a difference.

How would you feel if you went to the movie theater to watch a movie written by someone you don’t know and find out you are a pivotal character in it?

As soon as I understood Ivan’s context, I started imagining how cool would it be to read about myself in someone else’s journal as one of the ‘angels’ that made their life better. I thought about my visit to Paraguay and the dozens of lives I helped get started on a journey to transform their country. I was reminded of the huge gap between success and significance.

Ultimately, I remembered my purpose: to wake up every day looking for the question that allows you to break through a self-limiting belief that will allow you to become the best version of yourself.

Tips for becoming a pivotal character in someone else’s story?

Only one: identify your reason for existence and work it. The significance will happen on its own.

alt-text

 

[Español[(http://wp.me/p34b0Z-j9)

[blog_subscription_form

Let Me Know What You Think

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

