Will You Wait For The Brick?

I heard this story at church three years ago and it resonated with it at the time but never wrote about it.

Today, I share the excerpt with you.

An accomplished guy is driving down the road in his shiny new car and proud of his success. Out of the corner of his eye he notices a kid lifting a brick and throwing it towards the car. The bricks hits the car and leaves a good dent on it. The man stops the car, enraged, picks up the brick and starts scolding the child: ‘boy why would you do that?’

The boy replies: ‘I’m really sorry sir, but no one would stop, so I had to do it!’ That’s when the man notices, at the other side of the road, a boy on the floor besides a wheelchair. Then the boy continues: ‘that’s my brother, he fell and I can’t lift him up’.

What would you have done? How would you have responded?

To me the story is a reflection one of the most difficult times in my life.

By the time I heard the story, the brick had already hit my shiny car. I had let the pursuit of success and the busyness of life to distract me from what really matter most: to use my talents in the service of others.

Maybe you are thinking you’ll never let life give you the nasty wake up call. I thought the same. Today, I know better.

  • What’s your shiny car?
  • What priced have you paid to get it?
  • Who’s the kid on the floor you keep ignoring?
  • Who’s the kid throwing the brick?
  • How big of a brick are you going to be able to handle?

My brick was getting demoted and almost fired from my job. My brick was someone telling me “if it was up to me, you wouldn’t be here”.

Life threw my brick. And my passion was the one falling off the wheelchair.

That’s the moment that turned it around for me. That’s when I found my voice and opened the door to me making a difference in the life of hundreds of people I don’t even know.

I don’t know how this story speaks to you but I leave you with a simple question: How much distance do you think is left between your car and the brick?

Hopefully, you have started reducing your driving speed, rolled down the windows, and started enjoying the view.

alt-text

 

Español

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

