My Best Defense Against Failure

It’s not a tool , process, skill, program or knowledge. It’s self-judgment.

I have been known to say:

  • No one has higher standards of me than myself. Or,
  • There’s no criticism you could say that I haven’t said to myself.

Maybe, you have grown accustomed to similar phrases. You may even think they can serve as motivation to get better.

Here’s my question : What do you do when you don’t meet those standards?

I don’t know about you but I enter the realm of self-judgment.

  • I should have done…
  • I am not good enough.
  • Do it right or don’t do it at all.
  • Remember when I told you…
  • I know better.

What I find intriguing about self-judgment is its point of origination: to protect ourselves.

Here are 2 logical ways I mistakenly use self-judgment as a defense mechanism.

1. If my standards are higher, I don’t have to fear yours

Holding oneself to higher standards is a common practice for many of us. What may be different is the way I use these same standards to protect myself from appearing inferior to others.

It’s a very clever way to avoid paying attention to what others expect of me because I already believe “to hold myself to higher standards than anyone else.”

This is when I found myself not doing a lot of the things I wanted to do because “I had to do it right or not do it at all.”

2. If my criticisms hurt more, your words can’t hurt me

This one is a different version of the common if I prepare for the worst, then I won’t be disappointed or hurt.

It’s such a clever argument. Some would even argue they can’t lose with that mentality. But…

What happens when I start spending all my energy on the criticisms and start believing the awful things I say about myself?

alt-text

 

Self-judgment is the way I convinced myself not to try something new out of fear of failure. It is such a clever technique with solutions so logical that are irresistible. The key is to remember is that those solutions never move us closer to our dreams.

 

Español

One thought on “My Best Defense Against Failure

Add yours

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

