Change: Remembering The Law of Inertia

An object at rest stays at rest and an object in motion stays in motion with the same speed and in the same direction unless acted upon by an unbalanced force.

It’s simple: If you keep acting the way you are right now, you’ll keep getting the same results you have always gotten.

Some people like to talk a lot about “how they are going to change things”, “what should be done”, or “what they need to change”, but their actions don’t match their words.

alt-text

When Gandhi was asked by a mother to tell her kid to stop eating sugar, he told her to come back in 3 days. Why 3 days you ask? Because Gandhi had to stop eating sugar before he could mentor the kid.

Preach what you practice

This concept is changing the way a think about making commitments.

  • It’s what is forcing me to say “I’m not willing to put in the time” instead of “I don’t have time”.
  • It’s why I constantly share what I’m struggling with and what I am striving to change.
  • It’s why I hold back many statements unless I’m willing to be involved in the solution.

It sounds simple but it’s definitely not easy to implement.

2 Reasons I Struggle With Inertia

  1. It’s comfortable. While I want to create and implement new ideas and behaviors, I also enjoy staying with the routine. It’s just too natural to want to stay in a comfortable situation.
  2. It takes courage. It take a lot of self-confidence to break the mold. To only act in ways that are aligned with my beliefs at the expense of making others mad.

Change takes effort that not many people are willing to invest. It’s very easy to do the talking but when it comes putting some action behind those words that’s when the true leaders distinguish themselves.

The challenge today: reflect on 1 leadership concept you said you were going to apply, and then count how many times in the last 30 days, you actually did.

 

Español

2 thoughts on “Change: Remembering The Law of Inertia

Add yours

  1. This is a great reminder. The Leadership challenge that I am thinking about is changing your thinking, which leads to emotions, and actions thus equaling your behaviors. I have noticed multiple occurrence just since the Holiday weekend and continue to work on myself to entrench new behaviors through my Thoughts, Emotions, and Actions. Keep up the great reminders. Make it a Super+Fantastic day!

Let Me Know What You Think

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

