What To Do When The Evidence Is Missing?

alt-text

I heard somewhere that it took several years before people could see the Taj Mahal construction above ground. I can guess this is similar to how skyscrapers are built today.

We have to build the foundation first.

While this idea makes sense to me, I still struggle with it. The progress I see is not the one I expect. Sometimes I’m not even sure there’s progress.

Then, I’m reminded roots must take hold before the sprouts come out. The soil must be prepared, the nutrients need to gather.

Some may call my behavior impatient and unrealistic. I’m going to choose to call it ahead of its time. I’m learning to give up the requirement of knowing how. I’m learning to be willing to bet it all for the achievement of greatness.

But I have to admit, I’m struggling with the “absence of evidence.” I guess that’s why there’s something called faith.


I wrote those words 9 months ago.

What have I learned so far?

1 – Life is a joker

There is a season for everything, a time for every occupation under heaven… – Ecc 3:1

We know so much about the cycles of life for almost everything in the universe except the time when our dreams will come true.

The joke is we can figure out when to expect everything except the physical manifestation of our purpose.

I waited over 12 months for some key leaders to internalize the need to let go of “the way we do things” in order to make room for the new. That’s a long time to wait for results.

2 – Remember the confirmation bias

I am reminded over and over about this concept. Whenever I reflect on my bad days, I realize most of the frustration is caused by me focusing on the events that confirm the belief that “I’m wasting my time.”

The mind is an amazing filtering machine. Be willing to challenge the evidence.

3 – Faith is required but purpose comes first

I’m not talking, necessarily, about religion but about faith that success will come when I continue to move in the direction of my dreams.

The only thing that has kept me going is the awareness of what I’m meant to be and how I’d like to make it a reality.

Recent events have shown me that significance can’t be measured in the short term. I have to be in it for the long haul.

 

Español

Let Me Know What You Think

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

