5 Reasons Why I Love Being A Couch Potato

  1. It’s comfortable
  2. It’s safe
  3. There are no surprises
  4. It is effortless
  5. It’s hassle free

These are 5 expressions I have used to make avoid happiness. Truth be told, I rarely say them out loud but they definitely represent what I’m thinking and feeling. The actual phrases sound much closer to:

  1. But I’m so used to doing it this way!
  2. I already know what’s coming.
  3. I know exactly how to handle every problem that may come.
  4. It’s second nature.
  5. I don’t have to deal with new people or things I don’t know about.

What are yours?

It’s only when we teach ourselves to become comfortable with the unknown and to embrace paradox that we can truly evolve. – Karen & Henry Kimsey-House

We have reached the fifth thief. We’ve talked about control, conceit, coveting and consumption.

Comfort: the desire to stay on the same channel, in the same comfortable position, stuck in a routine that is not life giving.

Turf War: A New Creation vs. What’s Familiar

When I think about comfort, I am reminded of the turf war that happens daily between our need to grow & create and our bias to be efficient & safe.

A few months ago, I was talking to my friend Francisco about my emotional state. I was telling him about my work and how burned out I was with trying to revamp the culture. When I was finished, he said “I can understand why you feel that way, but let me ask you why do you stay there?”

I answered by telling him my vision for the company, my future role, and how I would drive the change. Trust me, it sounded great. Francisco replied with simple statement “That sounds great but why not do that for many companies instead of just one?That’s what you got certified to do.

I’m still pondering that question. I’m still wrestling with the idea of building my own business or persisting with this old dream. It’s a turf war! I want significance and also enjoy the safety of what’s familiar.

The end of the debate is nowhere near but, one thing is certain, I am trying new ways to reach a fuller expression of my potential.

alt-text

 

If you have enjoyed this series, make sure to checkout the book The Five Thieves of Happiness by Dr. John Izzo

 

Español

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

