Where Are You Losing By Winning? 

As part of the #IntentionalLiving 30 day challenge, I was asked to reflect on the question: where am I losing by winning?

Today, I take a moment to update my response from November 2015.

One of the behaviors that lead to my demise as a leader, back in 2012, was trying to win all the time by:

  • Forcing others to accept my idea as the best one.
  • Convincing others I could solve all their problems.
  • Worrying only about me team’s success.
  • Having others depend on me to make decisions.

My intentions were to help everyone by forcing my solutions on them. But, not surprisingly, the more I tried to win, the more I alienated people.

I was winning the arguments but losing the team.

Ultimately, my behavior gave me the gift of exile. I was practically kicked out of the team.

alt-text

Here are eight (8) things I have learned since my original statements.

  1. The only result from winning all the time is alienation from others.
  2. A leader that needs to be right, is one that creates distrust.
  3. Having to make all decisions, develops a mediocre team.
  4. The more I want to be important, the less valuable I become. No one follows a needy person.
  5. My significance is determined by how well my department runs when I’m gone.
  6. The best solutions are rarely a product of a single mind; they are a result of collective effort.
  7. It feels amazing not having to solve everyone’s problems.
  8. It’s more satisfying to see others develop their own ways to win.

What I have found most intriguing about not having to win at all costs is how I have grown my circle of influence since I started letting others win. By allowing others to implement their own ideas, I now have more people reaching out to me for counsel than when I was playing the role of know-it-all.

I guess there’s a lot of truth in the old adage “the more you give, the more it will come back to you.”

How has this change in perspective helped you?

 

Español

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

