5 Thing To Consider Before Saying “I Should Be A Leader”

I’m ready to lead…says who?

  • …your experience?
  • …your knowledge?
  • …your degree?
  • …your performance?

I must confess when I became a “leader”, I wasn’t ready at all. I actually sucked at it. I didn’t really start leading until 2012. And yet, I had direct reports since 2007.

I hear many people asking to lead because of their subject matter expertise or because that’s the next thing to put on their resume. I see too many of them thinking they can lead better than their leaders, and yet, they don’t even know how to set expectations. I know I didn’t.

You think you are ready to lead?

Here are five (5) things to think about.

  1. Show me you think other people first.
    • Genuinely placing others first is about service.
    • Your bias is to make decisions based on the benefit of everyone not yourself.
  2. Show me you are continuously learning
    • You grow and get better because you want to lead others to a better place based on what they need not what you want.
    • Once you stop growing, you stop leading.
  3. Show me you can hold yourself accountable.
    • This is taking responsibility for your role in everything whether someone is tracking you or not.
    • This also includes, at certain times, doing things that you may consider ‘not your job’.
  4. Show me you are willing to pay the price to do the right thing.
    • This is not about being “right” or “wrong” but about having the courage to make the right decision whether it is popular or not.
    • Many people fight for “being right” but they won’t for the right decision.
  5. Show me others voluntarily seek your opinion on business and personal matters.
    • This is a sign others are trusting your opinion on aspects beyond your technical expertise.
    • It also shows your influence extends beyond the power that comes with the position you hold.

Where does your title, expertise, degree, or performance fall into the items above?

Leadership is a privilege not something we are entitled to. I should not have been ‘leading’ in 2007.

 

Español

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

