#ToD – How Far Does Fear Take Your Leadership?

alt-text

I think of the quote above and the question in the title of this post as a reflection of environments I have lived in and heard of.

I’m pretty sure that almost everyone will agree with Vince’s quote. At the same time, it’s impressive how many leaders use a version of fear to “lead.”

How many so called “leaders” do you see using fear related tactics to direct their teams?

  • The implications of losing your job after a mistake.
  • The pressure to always get the answer right.
  • The excessive use of titles and positions to get stuff done.
  • The plethora of policies to ensure employees are well behaved.
  • The constant power struggle and politics.

How far do these methods go to get full engagement?

I know that I give my least necessary when I am lead this way. I can’t even say that’s ‘leadership.’ In essence, I give my hands but I remove my heart.

What say you?

How far do you think fear will take you to lead a group of people towards a common goal in spite of all opposition that may show up along the way?

 

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Let Me Know What You Think

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

