What You Want Is Not Convenient

About 2 years ago, I ran into a workplace situation filled with drama.

The object of discussion was the leadership symposium. A weekly discussion group focused on personal and leadership development topics.

The point of contention was who owns the invite and the meeting room scheduling. The original owner had changed departments and it was unclear as to who should own it now since the meetings were still happening in my location.

As I become aware of the situation, I had the idea of “owning the meeting and the scheduling.” As soon as the thought ended, others showed up.

  • Well, that’s going to be a hassle.
  • I don’t have time for that.
  • Only a handful of people attend.
  • You should probably let it die.
  • There are more important things to worry about.
  • It’s not part of my job description.

After several weeks deliberating, I chose to take over and keep the group going.

Little did I know this group would become the highlight of my weeks and the fuel for several dreams.

Today, you can notice major differences.

  • More than 350 different individuals have attended the sessions.
  • The attendance rate went from 5% to an average of 65% of those originally register to the session.
  • Participants went from roughly 5 people to an average of 60 with the highest attendance in a week being 116.
  • I even facilitated a session while riding a high-speed train traveling from Valencia to Madrid.
  • It opened the opportunity to organize and facilitate a leadership conference.
  • It created the space for people to practice their facilitation skills. And,
  • Dozens of people are grateful for the chance to have a safe space to share their ideas.

Did I know all of this would happen?

Not at all. The only thing I knew was that I wanted a space to share what I was learning two years ago.

To be clear, it still isn’t convenient.

  • There’s pressure to have a subject every Friday.
  • I have to find facilitators for the sessions.
  • What if I want to take vacation?
  • It is still not a direct part of my role description.
  • Many times I have other meetings overlapping with the symposium.
  • Etc., etc.

Making a difference and pursuing my dreams has never been convenient; and many times, it has sounded totally crazy. Yet, whenever I have chosen to pursue them, resources show up, time expands, and people come.

There is a lot of truth to the classic “Field of Dreams” movie line, ”If you build it, they will come.”

Take a moment to make inventory of the great things in your life and identify if they were ever convenient and logical when you started the journey to accomplish them.

 

Español

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

