Here is Why I Am Stuck

In the last 6 months, I have had a few people ask me why do I continue to allow myself to hit the lid.

For those who know about my mentor John C. Maxwell, you know what it means.

For those not familiar with the term, the question is exhorting me to provide reasons for why I continue to stay in a situation that has consistently prevented me from operating at full capacity.

The quick answer is: “I have a departure point commitment”

I have stayed because I am still committed to the dream that I can change the culture of my environment.

Now, I understand this type of commitment is a little different from the more common…

  • I want to start exercising but family and work take most of my time.
  • I’d love to go on vacation but I don’t have the money.
  • It would be awesome to pursue my passion but I have mouths to feed.
  • I really want to be (fill in the blank) but I don’t know where to start.
  • I registered to the seminar but “something” came up.

I’m sure you can come up with much wiser reasons to keep doing what’s familiar.

The bottom line is whenever I am stuck is due to me holding on to my old story.

This reminds of an analogy I heard several years ago.


A kid who reaches inside a precious vase to grab a candy that’s sitting at the bottom it. When he tries to pull his hand out, it gets stuck. No matter how hard he tried, he couldn’t set himself free.

Ultimately, someone had to shatter the valuable vase in order to set the kid free. It turned out the kid was stuck because he refused to unclench his fist and let the candy go.


It’s a silly analogy but it reflects how many of us approach life.

We are so focused on getting the candy that’s right in front of us because it is convenient, and we forget what’s more valuable. We hold strongly to the life we have at the expense of the precious life we are meant to live.

  • What are you holding on to that doesn’t serve you anymore?
  • Who do you have in your life that fights to keep you where you are?
  • What competing commitments do you have in your life that prevent you from taking a step towards the life you really want?

I don’t really know your situation. I can’t even suggest I understand the circumstances of your life. But I know this: if you are stuck, it is because you are holding on to the believe that the life you have right now is the best one you’ll ever have. Thus, you settle for the safety of what’s familiar.

I write all this as self-medication; and to encourage you to take inventory of the anchors currently present in your life that I preventing you to set sail toward the life you truly desire.

 

Español

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

2 thoughts on “Here is Why I Am Stuck

Add yours

  1. This is a great message that I have had to learn over the past 2 years. I think I really understand it and have grown from it. But this reminder helps me to keep thinking and applying it to all areas of my life. Thanks!

Let Me Know What You Think

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

